Sale season has begun…

13 Jun

Half “hurrah”, half “uh-oh” – sale season has begun. It’s when I hear myself saying “yeh, I need more sequin tops”; “wow, I really need that deerhunter hat”, and more often than not, “I need them in both colours”. This year the start of sale season coincided with a big freelance project so I didn’t get to pound the streets. But where there’s a will, there’s a way: click, click, BOOM.

I discovered that internet shopping is actually a pretty safe way for me to navigate the sales. No stinking, packed changing room, no elbow-in-the-eye from fellow bargain-hunters and no need to let a drop in sugar levels stop you in your tracks.

Here’s what you do:

1. Make a list of what you NEED before going online.

2. Make sure you can pair each purchase with at least three things in your wardrobe. Beyond the season’s trends.

3. Have your sizes straight – that is, the size you are at that particular store.

4. Check the returns policy – it’s usually no good for getting refunds on sale items, which may dissuade you from buying daft things.

5. Set your alarm – if a sale starts at 12am you can be one of the first in without queueing.

Here are some things to look out for!

Heidi in Rust, were £120, now £89 at www.kurtgeiger.com

J Brand Agnes Stealth Jeans, were £295, now £140 at www.Selfridges.com

Sonia by Sonia Rykiel Breton top, was £150, now £50 at www.Selfridges.com

Jelky in Rust, was £120, now £79 at www.kurtgeiger.com

2 Responses to “Sale season has begun…”

  1. Style Souk June 20, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Sound advice…

    With old age upon me – I recently turned… dare I say it?… 30! – my days of blitzing the Oxford Street sales are long behind me. It is much nicer to snuggle lazily at home and let my laptop pick up the slack.

    Online shopping is kinder not only on my feet but finances, too.

    So far this season, I’ve bought a Chinti and Parker t-shirt, Equipment blouse and silk Paul & Joe trousers – all of which are beautiful, wearable, and a better investment than the two hundred crap things I would have impulse-bought (and promptly relegated to the darkest recesses of my wardrobe!) had I visited the stores instead.

    Have you bought anything yet?

    Sarah x

    http://stylesouk.wordpress.com

    • The Three Graces June 20, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

      Sure have – 4 pairs of shoes, By Malene Birger trousers and a Stella McCartney t-shirt. J Brand trousers winging their way back to Selfridges though – only flaw of online shopping is getting the wrong size!

Leave a Reply

