Spa review: Anne Semonin at Radisson Blu Dubrovnik

12 Apr

I used to review spas for Glamour and GlamourMagazine.co.uk so since leaving I haven’t ventured into one, and rather missed it. Back in August, Wella took a group of us beauty writers to the Radisson Blu in Dubrovnik for a trend presentation and new product launch, and I loved it there so much I decided to return. It wasn’t a freebie, I’m not getting paid to review it – I just like to share when somewhere is as lovely as this.

The hotel is impeccably designed, styled, catered and staffed – literally no complaints whatsoever – and the views over the Croatian landscape on one side and the sea on the other are breathtaking. But most importantly, the 3500 square metre spa is just as wonderful.

There’s a real mix of health-spa vibe and pampering here – the gym and workout room keep the active occupied, while holidaying sloths like me had the choice of two indoor pools (one hydrotherapy, the other with a hatch to the outside to catch some sun) around which to recline. There seemed to be a wicker recliner everywhere you stepped, just in case you collapsed in a heap of overly relaxed bliss.  In the warmer months they also put more beds out on the spa’s terrace. The bar in between pools serves a mix of healthy smoothies and indulgent wines. My kinda spa. 

The treatment zone included several steam rooms, saunas, hammams and a cooling plunge pool, with a chic-looking shower at every turn. As per the hotel’s high standards, everything was impossibly clean and well set out, and the stunning views across the Adriatic kept distracting me from my magazine swimming.

Our massages  – The Blissful Back, Neck and Shoulder Massage for me, and the Deep Tissue Massage for my husband – were spot-on. I always think the test of a good masseuse is that you feel both cosseted and challenged – the massage has to move something within you whilst you remain utterly relaxed. Mine did just that, and another sign of a good masseuse – her hand didn’t leave my back once. The Anne Semonin products used in the treatment and available all over the hotel suited me down to the ground – a blend of essential oils and trace elements make them gentle giants of skincare. In fact on returning home I bought The Botanical Body Oil as a reminder.

I cannot recommend this spa highly enough, and in the summer you’ll have access to the various outdoor pools, gazillion restaurants and private beach too – get booking.

2 Responses to “Spa review: Anne Semonin at Radisson Blu Dubrovnik”

  1. Florene Leibman April 12, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    I wanted to check up and allow you to know how considerably I treasured discovering your blog today. I will consider it a real honor to do things at my workplace and be able to make use of the tips discussed on your web page and also participate in visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position inspiring guest writer become on offer at your end, you should let me know.

  2. Tim Hobbs April 13, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Beautiful view of the sea. I hadn’t realised the Adriatic was on a slope… 😉

Leave a Reply

