Exercise update – ouch.

2 Feb

'Exercising' at the swimming pool...

Yesterday was day one of the new plan to become a better person. I managed a 45 walk before work. Felt good, but today I have very sore buttocks. I’m assured by exercise–pros that this is a good thing. It doesn’t feel good. But to think I can get muscle strain from just walking is a worry. What next? Slip a disc picking up the post from the mat? Slip into a coma waving down a cab?

A lovely PR has offered me a Power Plate session but vanity requires me to perfect my technique here in Hove before I venture to her gorgeous London venue. Imagine schvitzing in Knightsbridge? Quelle horreur!

In other news, my equally-exercise-phobic friend didn’t love Bikram. I was really keen so consulted my trusted choreographer friend again, who reiterated: start with Pilates – it makes everything else easier. So that’s IT. I have to go investigate…

3 Responses to “Exercise update – ouch.”

  1. Tracey February 2, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I really like doing weights, you can do them with a friend and chat at the same time too! I love the book ‘New Rules of Lifting for Women’, you can find it on amazon. It’s not as hardcore as it sounds and you definitely won’t bulk up. Lifting weights also burns more calories in the 24 hours after exercise than cardio does so for me it’s a lazier way to stay in shape! We just wrote a blog post about some of the exercises we do if you want to take a look! http://a-tale-of-two-sisters.blogspot.com/2011/01/at-gym-arms.html

  2. Helen February 2, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    I tried pilates for a while and really found it useful for my posture. Then they changed the time of the class and I had to stop because it clashed with work. I think of it as stealth exercise – it doesn’t seem particularly energetic but you feel you’ve been working those muscles afterwards! As another person who absolutely hated sport at school and got to the age of 29 before considering getting fitter I can recommend it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Exercise update – ouch. « -- Topsy.com - February 3, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Grace Timothy, Grace Timothy and carrie b, Julie Coates. Julie Coates said: RT @GraceTimothy: Exercise bug hasn't bitten, still a pain in the butt. http://wp.me/p11PGz-vL […]

Leave a Reply

