The exercise-phobic Grace tries to get fit…

30 Jan

(c) Vogue Italia

I hate exercise. At school, an annual wrist injury cropped up the night before sports day without fail. I played rounders but my only strength was psyching out the opposition by going cross-eyed when I came to bat. I have been a member of 4 gyms, and have attended a grand total of 23 times throughout my lifetime. I once lived in a building that has a gym in the basement but I never went south of the ground floor.

Yoga didn’t go down well either. The farting, grunting, ball-scratching and sweating of the other people twisting and turning in our drafty village hall was too much for me to return for a second class. Before my wedding some well-meaning friends gave me a stack of work-out DVDs (Davina, Tracey Anderson etc.) which made great coasters on the coffee table. Finally, we got a Wii Fit package which was almost a success. I have faith that when I’ve got into my stride that might become a regular thing, but I’m still easily distracted when that personal trainer isn’t actually in the room forcing me to… I actually don’t know what personal trainers force you to do.

I’m not lazy, mind. I like a walk, I love to swim, I’ve run for a train or two in my time, and I’m too fractious to ever make it as a couch potato. But I bore easily and have not yet found something that keeps me interested. Simple as that. I’ve just lost that sense of urgency to tone up that I had when I was a teenager and Britney Spears’ wash-board stomach seemed essential – in those days vanity drove me to do 100 sit-ups a night. But recently I’ve been thinking about getting older. I eat well, live fairly well, but without those 30 minutes of cardio a day, is my long-term health in jeopardy? I’ve also read that some exercises aid digestion, obviously boost energy levels and can improve skin quality – now that I haven’t got a  lengthy commute to hide behind, it’s time to pull my finger out.

I’ve got a friend trying Bikram Yoga tomorrow, so if she doesn’t come out with 3rd degree burns I might give it a go. Second on the list is Zumba – I’ve been sent all the kit and caboodle, so would be rude not to. Finally, a choreographer friend of mine in London has told me to give Pilates a go. She says it’ll set me up well for yoga and anything else I want to try, so I’m now looking at classes in my area. Watch this space – maybe I’ll be the next Tracey Anderson by spring?

(c) Vogue Italia

10 Responses to “The exercise-phobic Grace tries to get fit…”

  1. Lucy Budge January 30, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Did you actually just read my thoughts before you wrote this??! Love it!

  2. Diary of a Fitness Amateur January 30, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I can relate to your post about exercise! I have had trouble finding the motivation or I am too busy. I am starting a blog about new fitness trends I will be trying and I have included hot yoga, pilates and zumba on the list. Let me know how those classes go for you!

  3. definitecuticle January 31, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Is there Bikram in Brighton?!

    • The Three Graces January 31, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Apparently – North Street. A friend is trying it this morning so will report back!

  4. carrie January 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    OMG you are in fact ME..I have tried so many different ‘keep fit’ classes and had one to one trainers (who sometimes made me cry!)I have owned two excerise bikes…one bacame a temp wardrobe, the newest one is ok I try it every other day, knees prevent more (or is it my lazy ass) I too have done several yogas, pilates, swimming, tennis, spin, swing and tap dancing, I am NO fitter! but have had some very funny times and a lot of laughs, good luck

    • The Three Graces January 31, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      What we need is a built-in swimming pool between the fridge and the rest of the house so you have to paddle for your pudding!x

  5. Jo Welch February 1, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I do Pilates once a week – and I love it! Feel so relaxed afterwards and all the aches of commuting and sitting in front of a laptop go away! Hope you like it – enjoy! 🙂

  6. Nikki February 22, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    I can totally relate to this post! I had a bad ankle in school 😉
    I also have the best intentions, and (most of the time) I eat well and try and look after myself. But I am yet to find my ‘thing’ as far as exercise is concerned. I am a bit of a fair-weather jogger (i.e. I only tend to do it when the weather is nice!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The exercise-phobic Grace tries to get fit… « -- Topsy.com - January 30, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Grace Timothy, Grace Timothy. Grace Timothy said: Exercise schmexercise… or so I thought. Help me get fit by finding my ideal sport…. http://bit.ly/fr2Puj […]

Leave a Reply

