Getting changed…

1 Nov

 

I am about to embark on a bit of an adventure. I am leaving the hallowed corridors of Conde Nast, where I have been happily ensconced for a number of years now, first at Vogue and more recently at Glamour. I am handing in the security card (with the picture of the hopeful face and flat hair of my first day) that until now has given me access to the most beautiful delectables, the most fabulous parties and the most incredible editors. ’WHY?’ you might ask. Well, I’m going freelance! I’m going to try lots of things – books, newspapers, magazines – while I’m still young enough to pretend my Jimmy Choos aren’t killing me and still green enough to think it’s worth wearing them even if they are.  I’ll still be writing for them all and hopefully I’ll return as a full-time staffer on a magazine, but for a year or so I’m stepping into the abyss, Smythson in hand, and with all the fashion, beauty and lifestyle know-how they kindly bestowed upon me.   

So here I am, working on my first few projects as a travailleur indépendant (sounds better in French, non?) And I hoped you might join me?

22 Responses to “Getting changed…”

  1. Elle Tucker November 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Oooh good luck Grace, you’ll have a ball xx

  2. linda November 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Excitementation!!
    It’s going to be great, Timbo.
    x

    • The Three Graces November 1, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      Thanks Fiona and Linda too – can’t tell you how good it is to have the support!

  3. Fiona - Notorious Kitsch November 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    good luck honey, I hope it works out really well for you!

  4. Natasha Bailie November 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    you are awesome! FACT.

  5. The Social Tailor November 1, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Ah, Grace, good for you. Admiration is pouring out of every pore. As someone that studied fashion design, treaded the boards as one of the buying team at Burberry and subsequently jumped into the unknown more than 10 years ago, I can honestly say. Wow it’s been a rollercoaster but hell it’s been worth it. Hold on with both hands and enjoy the ride. Just remember that to fully appreciate those great moments you have to have one or two bad ones too.

    I wish you every success and will watch from the sidelines as you flourish and blosom.

    CG x

    • The Three Graces November 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Gosh, thank you very much – what a kind message. I am very excited!!! x

  6. Alice du Parcq November 1, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Well done and good luck! Keep us posted on when you’re coming to London for launches so I can coincide!
    Ahmed (aka The Exfoliator) tells me he writes from home in boxers and a face mask. Hope you’re planning on something equally fabulous j’espere?
    See you soon! xxxx

    • The Three Graces November 1, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      Huge thank-you Alice! Yes – waders, a one-piece and a fake moustache?
      xxxxxxxx

  7. Penny Dreadful Vintage November 1, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    How very exciting – good luck!

  8. AmyShoeLou November 1, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Lots of luck – sounds ever so fabulous and exciting! x

  9. Beautyjunkielondon November 1, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Good luck Grace, I’m sure you will be fabulous!x

  10. Timbob November 1, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Good luck Miss G, fortune favours the brave. What you lose in Choos, you’ll gain in daytime TV. Life won’t be the same without the morning “snot and cough” tweets though!

  11. rollergirl November 1, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    If I can do it, you can do it… let the adventure commence! x

  12. Charlotte November 2, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Good luck lady, mucho excitemente! (sounds better in Spanglish right?)

  13. carrie November 2, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    much good luck missie. you are so awesome (can one say that…grammer) that life will be a peach for you, you have a great talent and that will always win…
    keep doing what you are doing x

    • The Three Graces November 2, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

      Thanks Carrie and Charlotte – feel very supported by you fine fillies xx

  14. Jo Welch November 4, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    100% Good Luck!! You’ll be fabulous. Love this blog it’s written beautifully – you go girl!

Leave a Reply

