What I’m Using… new season skincare

9 Oct

So, it’s officially autumn, and my summer skincare routine is on its way out as my skin reacts to the change in temperature. But it’s not quite winter – the central heating isn’t on at home yet, it’s not chaffingly cold but I need an extra bit of something to combat the new dryness and a little bit of seasonal eczema I get on my chin each autumn. So here’s what I’m using right now.

FACE: It’s not quite time for the thick winter creams, but I am layering up at night. First Ren’s Keep Young and Beautiful Serum £45 then a warm topping of Frankincense Revitalising Night Cream £30, both www.renskincare.co.uk. It’s all the hydration and brightening I need. One or two nights a week I massage on a good dose of Aromatherapy Associate’s new Overnight Repair Mask £43 www.aromatherapyassociates.com to really moisturise and plump up – I don’t wash it off until my morning cleanse the next day for a really intensive treatment. In the morning I still use my Alpha H SPF 50 moisturiser, but also some of the new Decleor Harmonie Calm moisturiser £46 www.decleor.co.uk – it is doing the trick at calming the slight irritation the cool winds and a central-heated office bring out in my skin. It’s also soothing the red, dry patch of skin I always get on my chin at this time of year.BODY:  Body brushing doesn’t stop, no matter the weather. It might feel a bit torturous on a chilly, dark morning when you’d rather wallow in a bath, but it gets the circulation going and sloughs off the dry, dull skin (£7, www.thebodyshop.co.uk). I love a bit of Green & Spring Relaxing Bath and Shower Foam £18 www.greenandspring.com for evenings in the tub, and always finish off with my favourite body lotion: Kai £45 The Shop at Bluebird.

3 Responses to “What I’m Using… new season skincare”

  1. Charlotte October 9, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    How’s the Alpha H SPF 50 application wise? Is it like spreading treacle? x

  2. Grace October 9, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    It’s really fine – it’s a chemical rather than physical protectant so they’ve managed to make it really light – glides on. Go to it!

  3. carrie October 20, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    have always been a fan of Ren..but good to get info on other products..ta miss grace beauty guru

Leave a Reply

