Blow dries and up-dos, a retrospective.

3 Oct

JOB INTERVIEW      

This time last year I was appointed Acting Beauty Writer at the very wonderful Glamour Magazine. During the interview process my boss at Vogue reminded me before each one: blow-dry, nails and high heels. It was like a mantra. But to avoid a nervous head-flick to get my fringe out of my eye, I went for up-dos each time. The winning do? A twisty side-bun by Vicky Demetriou at Hershesons on Conduit Street, London.      

      

FOR FASHION WEEK      

A while later, I was lucky enough to see Adam Reed of London super-salon Percy and Reed, who showed me a loose and messy braided look he had just created for Diane Kruger (natch). I love this look. And Adam’s striped top.      

1. Creating the loose braid and adding texture with Shu Uemura Kengo Feather Tenacious Hold Cream

 

2. Twisting and pinning into a big, fat chignon at the nape of the neck

 

WEDDING HAIR      

Adam’s look inspired my wedding hair. I went to see Vicky at Hersheson’s again, who created a half-head of extensions I could clip to the back of my head to thicken up my hair, and then Jonathan Soons at Headmasters Mayfair created this boho, wavy look using L’Oreal Professionel products.      

      

Jonathan mixes loose braids with waves and a Jenny Packham headpiece

 

On the big day Jonathan and I decided the headpiece and veil (£30 from Angels Fancy Dress shop!) were too much, so he roughed up the curls and kept it simple. I added the headdress when I got changed into my evening dress for a more 1940s look.      

      

FOR A NIGHT OUT      

For my hen night in fact. Well it’s a wig isn’t it? I was dressed as Lady Gaga, as you do. Expertly crafted at www.superpartywigs.co.uk      

 

2 Responses to “Blow dries and up-dos, a retrospective.”

  1. FortyNotOut October 4, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Love all those “do’s” but especially the low chignon – I wish I was better at putting my own hair up. Most attempts end in disaster! x

  2. carrie October 5, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    oh I love all those ‘do’s’ the wedding hair looks amazing. lucky you to have lovely locks x

Leave a Reply

