Lady Gaga’s Meat Dress

14 Sep

First I should state for the record, I am a fan of both Gaga and beef. I’m more in the Caitlin  Moran camp than I am the Paglia camp (I’m under 50 after all), and although Stella McCartney is one of my favourite designers and I don’t wear fur, I am partial to leather, suede and Cottage Pie. So if you’re a vegetarian Gaga-hater, as many of my friends are, maybe don’t read beyond the first sentence. 

(C) BBC Newsbeat

 

I hated the meat dress Gaga wore to the VMAs this week. But rather than finding it offensive or outrageous, I disliked it simply because it looked gross in my opinion, and god it must have smelt bad (rumour has it that Gaga has a certain aroma about her anyway – must be all that rushing around in tight-crotched show outfits). But really, is it worse than the meat hanging in a butcher’s window? Those that are lambasting Gaga for “setting a bad example of her young fans”, does anyone really believe any of her little Monsters are likely to wear a similar meat dress to express their admiration for their beloved Gaga? And in terms of inspiring them to eat meat, (personally it insights me to reach for the Linda McCartney recipe book), is that really the message it sends? I think not. She later revealed to Ellen DeGeneres that she wore it in protest against the American policy that gay, lesbian and bisexual soldiers can only serve in the US military if they don’t reveal their sexual orientation. Natch. Is it “offensive to vegetarians and vegans”? Perhaps. But so is eating a burger, presumably. It’s just another subversive statement (incidentally designed by Franc Fernandez) from the girl who likes to be talked about. It worked when she appeared on the cover of VOGUE HOMME JAPAN in a steak bikini, so she turned the same trick into a dress. At least it’s not a fur coat, just a bit of a waste of food… Anyway, she’s only 24, so I’m just going to write it off as the sartorial mistake of an impressionable youngster. I mean when I was 24 I once wore a pair of 20 dernier tights for goodness’ sake, quelle horreur! 

Talking of sheer tights, my other idol, Cher was there to present Gaga with the award for Best Video. More excitingly for me than the ‘could’ve-done-with-a-drop-of-Bernaise-sauce’ dress, was her embrace with Cher, who was wearing a replica of the….what would you call that?….’suit’ she wore in 1992 to sing If I Could Turn Back Time (then 46, now 64). I’m only surprised the world didn’t implode under the sheer magnetism spun up between them when they touched. And that Cher didn’t take a bite… 

(C) Softpedia.com

7 Responses to “Lady Gaga’s Meat Dress”

  1. beautyscoopclaire September 14, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I am a vegetarian and whilst I wasn’t offended by the ‘outfit’ I did think it was completely vile. Being ‘different’ doesn’t mean that there are no lines that can’t be crossed with regards to how you look.

    • The Three Graces September 14, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      It is indeed gross – imagine having to sit next to her wearing that – the smell! And I’d rather not wear anything that has the potential to attract maggots. I think she was using it as a shock tactic to draw attention to something she finds offensive, namely the US military’s stance on sexuality, so it’s a shame she has in turn offended others with it. I just think rare and endangered furs are a lot more offensive then shop-bought beef to be honest. But that’s just me and I’m not a vegetarian after all!

  2. Hattie Coburn September 14, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I love this blog Grace – you make me want to keep reading, and not cos you’re my mate!! Love the humorous interjections, v funny. Cue further comments from my pops about what a good writer you are (and are we sure it’s the first time he’s told us?) And agreed, the dress is disgusting…but she continues to shock and entertain us and thus we continue to talk about her…Keep on it Gaga! XXX

  3. thepolly September 14, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    My God, I wouldn’t have wanted to be the one handing the award to her, nor would I wanted to have sat next to her. The only kind of cutting edge this shambles is, is the kind you find in an abattoir. I wouldn’t have minded if it looked good, but now she just looks silly.

    • The Three Graces September 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

      I think she kind of likes looking silly – look at the general wardrobe she models, silly silly silly!

  4. carrie September 15, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    that really made me laugh, a good spin on the whole meat dress fiasco… she wanted to shock and she shocked! but that is really what she is all about, bit daft but god love her she is aloud at 24yrs to be daft.
    great post yet again miss grace xx

Leave a Reply

