Fashion’s Night Out… or in, if you’re me.

8 Sep

GUCCI

 

Last year’s inaugural Fashion’s Night Out, the VOGUE shopping festival in the face of a recession, was one of my last VOGUE events as a staffer. We all started at the Burberry store party, alongside Christopher Bailey, Claudia Schiffer, Jourdan Dunn and Lara Stone (and interestingly, Tess Daly). As FNO was declared ‘open’, I went to Roberto Cavalli with honorary shop assistants, stylist Bay Garnett and model Rosie Huntington-Whitely, she of the power-pout and Victoria Secret lushness. We dressed customers, pulled out our favourite clobber and drank bubbly. Then Bay and I went on to Fendi, where we ate a lot of crisps and tried on shoes. Later I made my way to Harvey Nichols where Jade Jagger was showing off her new collection of t-shirts. There was a buzz in the air for sure, but this year Vogue stepped it up a whole bunch of notches.   

DAKS

 

Tonight, Bond Street was literally bursting with gorgeous-looking people and flashing cameras. Champagne glasses almost horizontal in the hands of shoppers laden with bags. Real, live models yawning nonchalantly in the window of Daks. A black carpet and awning outside of Chanel (not to mention a hefty queue despite the rammed innards of the shop itself). Some incredibly hot suits protecting the entrance to Gucci from anyone wearing a heel under 5″. Irate cab drivers beeping a gaggle of drain-pipe-jeaned men with high hair and thick-rimmed specs who were crossing from McQueen to YSL.   

CHANEL

 

Of course most of this was witnessed from my vantage point on the 2nd Floor of the building I work in. Because this year’s FNO was spent as a staffer on Glamour, a staffer on deadline in fact, working late. But it was hugely heartening to see Bond Street so rammed, buzzing with DJ sets and the sounds of credit cards being proffered. My sources told me Gwyneth Paltrow and Natalia Vodionova visited Stella McCartney, while Jane Birkin stopped in at Miller Harris and Lily Allen shimmied through Selfridges. And tonight’s Harvey Nichols cast of designers included Erdem and Christopher Kane, for gawd’s sake!   

DKNY

 

Nice one, Vogue! Girls haven’t frolicked so on a London Street since 1960s Carnaby Street!   

P.S. Since I missed most of FNO this evening, I’ll be throwing a mini one at my place this weekend. Not just with a bottle of Lambrini outside Miss Selfridges, neither. For 3 of my Voguettes are coming to see me. So I might get one of them to show me how to tie a scarf Liberty-style, another to paint my nails in Chanel’s Les Khakis, and the third to talk me through the window display at GAP.

One Response to “Fashion’s Night Out… or in, if you’re me.”

  1. Rollergirl September 9, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Awww, you were there in spirit, that’s the main thing.

Leave a Reply

