I Love A Bath, I do.

7 Sep

I love having a bath. I always advise readers not to spend hours languishing in a steaming hot tub as it can dry and inflame your skin. But if I’m honest, I do like a dip. So the first thing I do when I enter a hotel room? Check the tub. Here are a few of my favourites. (I know it’s a bit weird but I just have a lot of pictures of baths, ok? Think of it as the equivalent of my travel pages).

But first, my current bathtime essentials:

1. Feeling grubby. After a night out, for example, when you’re feeling less than fresh and hours of dancing round your Balenciaga clutch have caused your very bones to ache. Do a few minutes of dry body brushing first, moving in strong upward strokes. Then soak in this ‘detoxifying’ bath.

Elemental Herbology ‘Detox’ Botanical Bathing Infusion £19.50 www.spacenk.com

2. Feeling…amorous. If you’re gearing up for a date, this sublimely feminine-smelling bath oil will leave you subtly fragranced, soft as silk and feeling a bit relaxed and fabulous. Mmm.

Moroccan Rose Otto Bath Oil £25 www.spacenk.com

3. Feeling stressed. Hard day at work? Kids annoying the hell out of you? Heel of your favourite Louboutins broken? This oil blend is available as ‘light relax’, but I want to leave the bathroom on my hands and knees with my tongue hanging out and my head lolling around like a bladder on a stick. So I go ‘deep’. Within minutes of breathing in for 7 counts through my nose and out through my mouth for 5 counts, deadlines, bad roots and cashmere-munching moths are as far from my mind as Sky Sports.

Aromatherapy Associates Relax Deep Bath Oil £34.75 www.aromatherapyassociates.com

4. Feeling patchy. Be honest – your tan is fading, you have those patchy stains around your wrists, ankles and neck, and frankly, you look like someone’s drizzled tea on you. This is my Sunday night bath – I pour in two caps full of oil, soak for about ten minutes, then scrub with the exfoliating cloth. Then start all over again…

St Tropez Tan Detox Bath Oil £25 www.lookfantastic.com (£21.50 for members)

Rub-a-dub-dub, my favourite tubs…

The Continentale in Florence, Italy.

My first glimpse through the dressing room (!) to the bathroom…It was love from first drip.

That is one lush bath.

Seaham Hall in County Durham.

Ahhhhh…

The Moet Vintage Room at Hotel Du Vin in Cheltenham.

Yes, that’s TWO bloody baths! On a stage! It’s as if they knew…

The Radisson Blu in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

It’s in the room you sleep in, but you can pull a curtain – love that, you can totally watch MTV while you scrub.

One Response to “I Love A Bath, I do.”

  1. Coquette & Dove September 8, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    A girl after my own heart! I’m all about the tub, there’s nothing like it. I’m running one as I type, with handfuls of Epsom Salts and lots of lavender oil to get the ‘party flu’ out of my system!

    http://coquetteanddove.blogspot.com/2009/10/guilty-pleasures-water-baby.html

Leave a Reply

